Movie Review: War – Starring Jet Li & Jason Statham

by Jason of New Movie Friday on August 24, 2007

in Movie Reviews

Watch War via Amazon Instant VideoMovie: War (R)
Released: August 24th, 2007
Runtime: 1 hr. 39 min.
Ticket Price: $5.00 Early Matinee
Refreshments: Hot Dog, Milk Duds & Starburst
Starring: Jet Li & Jason Statham
Director: Philip Atwell

Rating: Check it Out When it Hits the Likes of HBO or Showtime –

Synopsis: An assassin has apparently killed an FBI agent’s partner and family. The FBI agent becomes consumed with exacting revenge. When the assassin returns, a war between two Asian mobsters is sparked. As the battle ensues, the ultimate confrontation between the agent and the man he has sought ends up revealing the truth of what took place.

Review: You don’t go to a movie like War for the acting, you go for the action and hope there is a modicum of a story to hold it all together. Well, War has what could have been an interesting story to back up the action, but it falters in the way it’s put together.

It was like they filmed a bunch of sequences and then tried to figure out how to put them together to make a movie. There are no transitions from one scene to the next. At one point Agent Crawford, played by Jason Statham (Crank, The Transporter), drives up in his car to a crime scene. They talk about what may have happened there and then in the next scene a big SUV pulls up at another location and he gets out. You’re like, what? How did they get there? Is it the next day already? This happens way too many times.

Plus, the quick cut action sequence has seen its day. How about just showing us the fight sequence already, or are you trying to cover something up with all the hyper-editing. Like that the fight isn’t all that exciting itself and we have seen it all before. Although, there are a couple of sword play scenes that are pretty good involving Jet Li (Unleashed, The One).

Another problem, as many movies in this genre have, is that all the Asian gang members look like they stepped right out of central casting. They all look the part, as we’ve come to expect them, but they are just a bunch of caricatures. Just taking up space until it is there turn to be taken out.

Overall, you should wait on this one until it hits the premium cable movie outlets, as you won’t be missing anything worth seeing on the big screen. This movie doesn’t even live up to the likes of the two Transporter flicks of Statham’s, or even the crappiness that was Cradle 2 the Grave with Li.

Have you seen War? What did you think?

{ 15 comments… read them below or add one }

1 Nicole August 26, 2007 at 9:11 am

Jason,

I heard about War, but am not into a many of the Jet Li movies. Do you have any contact info?

2 Jason of New Movie Friday August 26, 2007 at 6:37 pm

Nicole, this was not one of his better movies, so you haven’t missed much. As for contact info, I thought there was a contact form on the about page, but there wasn’t. I have now added a contact info page to the top menu. Thanks for pointing it out.

3 Ryan August 31, 2007 at 1:37 pm

This movie was awesome! The action and fighting was so intense Jet Li is the man!! This movie is getting lame reviews because the people who reviewed it dont like Jet Li or action movies haha. I saw it last night and thought the killing, shoot outs, car sceens, and everything else about it was intense and deffinetly worth seeing. I will deffinetly buy this for my new big screen when it comes out :)

4 Brandy September 2, 2007 at 11:05 pm

Totally agreed with Ryan, the story was complicated, but i found the meaning in it. The actions scenes were expanded, but that’s how it supposed to be, bcuz it’s the most intensed part. There’s no wonder, i think Li did the good job! (i’m not his fan, by the way.) ;)

5 Mark September 30, 2007 at 3:12 am

Awesome movie! I do not understand why it gets so bad reviews. I like it

6 Ben September 30, 2007 at 5:23 am

Hi
This is very good movie.

7 Mac November 14, 2007 at 1:45 am

This movie was awsome except for the end ….. u never know wat happens ….

8 boricuablanca79 January 16, 2008 at 9:57 am

I watched it more for John Lone than anything else. He is the hottest man in the world, despite his obvious aging since blood-filled Year of the Dragon.

9 action jackson January 25, 2008 at 5:36 pm

i dotn understand why this film got such bad reviews, this was a very interesting movie with a complex plot and concidering the actors, the acting was fairly good. i would definatly recommend watching this film

10 Nikko August 31, 2008 at 9:16 pm

What car did Jason Statham drive in this movie?
I am having trouble finding it, I love muscle cars.

11 Jason of New Movie Friday September 3, 2008 at 7:11 pm

Nikko, Sorry, I don’t recall.

12 Michelle June 13, 2010 at 3:50 pm

OMG!!! THIS MOVIE IS AWESOME!!! And nikko it was a 1971 chevelle malibu i love muscle cars too.

13 John January 30, 2011 at 6:59 am

My guess would be a 1970 Chevelle SS. IMO I don’t care if it’s movie context you don’t wreck that car.

14 Shannon June 11, 2011 at 12:26 am

Nikko- the car Jason Statham was driving is a 1969 chevrolet chivelle SS! Awesome car!

15 Statham freak 188 February 10, 2012 at 12:35 pm

War SUCKED big time, huge disappointment! I blame the director, when making a movie with statham & li at least half the movie should be pure fight scenes forget about the story its JASON F’N STATHAM & JET FREAKEN LI!

Leave a Comment

{ 1 trackback }

Previous post:

Next post: